Persistent identifier:
image: of 215
Here the stranger will find himself-at a considerable elevation, the ground being level with the top of the lofty fortifications commanding a beautiful view of the Test and opposite shores, and of the adjoining Towers, which we shall presently describe in speaking of the roadJiat their foot. This is now accessible-by the
Constructed against the face of the Wall in 1853. Prom Albion and Castle-places, short lanes conduct into the upper part of the High-atreet.
And the water-side, are reached either by the Albion Steps or from the end of the Arcade. Supposing the stranger to proceed from the latter point, he will find this a highly picturesque and interesting portion of the fortifications, standing close to the water's edge, and boldly broken by salient buttresses, The whole of this part was washed by the tide until recently, when by the exertions of one public-spirited individual, the late Rev. T. L. Shapcott, the new Western Shore Road was formed to communicate with Blechynden and the Mill-brook Shore, and to render the waterside thoroughfare on the west and south of the town complete. Part of the beach is still called the Tin Shore, from some circumstances in connection with the ancient tin trade of the port.
After rounding the projecting Walls, with the remains of towers, the eye will soon be attracted ^ by a close succession of buttresses and turrets and intervening walls, having door and window cases now filled up. Here was the Water Gate of the Castle, and the windows lighted an extensive vault. Passing a piece of flat wall, a tower executed in smooth masonry appears, and just beyond it, at the advancing angle—where the Castle north wall joined the sea wall, is a tower which has a flying arch at each angle for the support of an octagonal
Facebook Twitter Stumbleupon Delicious Digg RSS