PP/GC/LE/65 Letter from Sir G.C.Lewis to Henry John Temple, third Viscount Palmerston suggesting members of a commission of enquiry into the National Gallery, 5 July 1856
Letter from Sir George Cornewall Lewis, second Baronet, [Chancellor of the Exchequer], Downing Street, [Whitehall, London], to Henry John Temple, third Viscount Palmerston: he suggests the following names as members of a commission of enquiry into the National Gallery: Lord Wrottesley Mr T. Baring Sir Richard Westmacott Sir J.Watson Gordon Mr Faraday Lord Wrottesley is a man of science, Baring is a collector of pictures, Sir R.Westmacott is a sculptor, who has studied antiquities and architecture. Sir Watson Gordon is a painter, and President of the Academy at Edinburgh; he also holds the honorary office of Queen's Simner. Faraday is a chemist. The question of the transfer of antiquities from the British Museum to the National Gallery, as well as the site of the intended building is to be referred to this commission. 5 July 1856
One paper
All images are copyright. Please contact Archives@soton.ac.uk if you wish to reproduce this material
John Wrottesley, first Baron Wrottesley, President of the Royal Society
Sir Thomas Baring, second Baronet, private secretary to the First Lord of the Admiralty
Sir Richard Westmacott, sculptor
Sir James Watson Gordon, portrait painter
Professor Michael Faraday, natural philosopher, President of the Royal Institution
British Museum; National Gallery; London
Facebook Twitter Stumbleupon Delicious Digg RSS