PP/GC/LE/49 Letter from Sir G.C.Lewis to Henry John Temple, third Viscount Palmerston, regarding the membership and constitution of a proposed commission on sewage, December 6 [1856 ?]
Letter from Sir George Cornewall Lewis, [second Baronet, Chancellor of the Exchequer], Downing Street, [Whitehall, London], to Henry John Temple, third Viscount Palmerston: he had a conversation that morning with William Cowper about the plan for a commission on sewage. Its object would be "to enquire into the most effectual means of converting the sewage of towns to beneficial and profitable uses." Lewis and Cowper suggest the following as working members: Mr Brunel; Professor Way, consulting chemist to the Agricultural Society; Mr Austen, engineer to the Board of Health; Mr Simon; Sir R.Christison. For "ornamental" names they suggest: Lord Essex; Lord Portman; Lord Stradbrooke; Mr Key Seymer; Sir J. Trollope. Other names undoubtedly will occur. Lewis does not know whether Dr Southwood Smith could be turned to any account. Sir Watson Gordon has declined to serve on the National Gallery commission because "he cannot have Edinburgh." Lewis has consulted Eastlake as to the best mode of supplying his place. On Eastlake's advice, Lewis has written to Richmond the artist, who is not a Royal Academician. William Hamilton has given an opinion in favour of the purchase of the Campana collection. Lewis, therefore, has despatched his letter to Campana. 6 Dec [?]1856
Two papers
All images are copyright. Please contact Archives@soton.ac.uk if you wish to reproduce this material
William Francis Cowper-Temple, later first Baron Mount-Temple, President of the Board of Health
Isambard Kingdom Brunel, civil engineer
Professor Way, consulting chemist to the Agricultural Society
Henry Austen, engineer to the General Board of Health
John Simon, medical officer to the General Board of Health
Professor Sir Robert Christison, physician, member of the General Medical Council
Arthur Alegernon Capell, sixteenth Earl of Essex
Edward Berkeley Portman, first Baron Portman, later first Viscount Portman
John Edward Cornwallis Rous, second Earl of Stradbrooke
Henry Ker Seymer, Member of Parliament for Dorsetshire
Sir James Trollope, seventh Baronet
Thomas Southwood Smith, sanitary reformer
Sir John Watson Gordon, portrait painter
William Richard Hamilton, trustee of the British Museum
Marchese Giampietro Campana (di Cavelli), Italian art collector
George Richmond, portrait painter
Sir Charles Eastlake, President of the Royal Academy, director of the National Gallery
Facebook Twitter Stumbleupon Delicious Digg RSS