Persistent identifier:
73057763
image: of 50
ITS I-IISTOltY AND ANTIQUITIES.
38
residence here at the beginning of the present century, intended by it to perpetuate the memory of George III., displacing for that purpose a scarcely more elegant effigy of Queen Anne now in the Guildhall. In this spacious building on the first floor, forming the original gatehouse, a series of appropriate stained glass windows are inserted illustrative of the history of the town. Sir Henry Englefield, one of the most reliable of Southampton antiquaries, in his work published in 1805, attributed the gate to the time of the Saxons or Normans, but others believe the work to be of two somewhat later periods—that of Henry III., and Edward III. The north front is especially worth notice, from its handsome design and remarkably perfect machicolations, illustrating the mode of defence of the 14th century. The leaden lions sejant flanking the central archway were presented to the town some 130 years since, to replace others, then decayed, which were placed at the outermost extremities of the parapet of the drawbridge crossing the town ditch that here bordered the walls east and west until the last century, when it was filled up. The paintings on the buttresses, as we have before pointed out, represent the legendary giant of the town, Sir Bevis, with his squire Ascnpart. The shields on the sunken panels above the archway are comparatively modern, and bear the arms of persons formerly officially connected with the town. On the left or east side there are only a few traces left of the town wall, but turning-down Orchard-street, to the right, on reaching the shore there are some of the most perfect remains in the kingdom illustrative of the methods of defence in mediaeval times, with one or two very picturesque round towers. Up the " forty steps," whence a pleasant view of the West bay is obtainable, we come upon the site of the Castle of Southampton, in the time of John in the governorship of A (lam de Port, and in the time of Richard II. so bravely defended from an attack by the French that Sir John Arundell, its governor, was rewarded for his services by the honorary post of Marshal of England. The only trace of it now left is a small portion of wall, but within the last few years, on excavating for building on the site, a large chamber was discovered; a similar chamber, with Norman corbels supporting the stone roof, was also opened on the visit of the Archaeological Society to the town in 1872. Returning to the shore and passing along the wall the west portion will be found interesting, curious, and unique. Edwardian work has here been built against the Saxon or Norman wall, forming an ai'cade such as is rarely seen, and instead of the ordinary machicolations they are here made sufficiently long for a
Facebook Twitter Stumbleupon Delicious Digg RSS