Persistent identifier:
61031975
image: of 121
MATE S HANDBOOK TO SOUTHAMPTON.
Four chained books and an ancient brass lectern will attract notice, together with other relics of antiquity.
St. Michael's Square was formerly the fish market, which is now held in French Street, and was blocked up by buildings. On its southern side was the ancient hall of the woollen merchants, of which some fragments remain. "Tudor House," a handsome timber-fronted building on the western side of the Square is said by vague tradition to have been occupied by Henry VIII. and Anne Boleyn. It has lately been restored in perfect good taste. St. Joseph's Church (Roman Catholic), was partly designed by the elder Pugin. A large Municipal Lodging House and Artisans' Dwellings have replaced a good many slums in this neighbourhood.
Returning to the High Street, we note the Crown, Dolphin, and Star Hotels, all of them some centuries old. St. Lawrence Church has a fine marble pulpit, and some good stained glass windows. All Saints Church was built in 1792, and is classic in style, with a vast span of roof. Admiral Carteret, the circumnavigator, and Bryan Edwards, one of the historians of the West Indies, are buried here. There is a monument by Westmacott, and also one by Flaxman, illustrating the Lord's Prayer.
Before passing the Bargate, let us turn down East Street, into St. Mary's Street to visit the church of the same name, the principal in Southampton. The Early English church upon this site was for the second time re-built in 1879-84 by G. E. Street, R.A., at the cost of some £25,000, during the incumbency of Canon Basil Wilberforce. The windows have some good stained glass. The organ was built by Willis, and the baptistery, adapted for total immersion, is unique. The Rectory is known as the Deanery, because for centuries the Rector of St. Mary's was Rural Dean of Southampton, an arrangement which has been revived.
Passing under the Bargate on our right is Above Bar Chapel. Air. Nathaniel Robinson was ejected from All Saints' Church in 1662, as was also Mr. Say from St. Michael's. Air. Robinson became the first pastor of the Nonconformist congregation. Mr. Say was imprisoned in company with Mr. Watts, the father of the poet, who was fined £5 for refusing to renounce the Solemn League and Covenant. The name of Dr. Watts heads the list of baptisms. The fine Watts Memorial Hall, behind the chapel, stands upon the former garden of the poet's father, who gave it for Congregationalist purposes. Dr. Watts wrote many of his hymns for use at this chapel, and they were sung from the original manuscript.
Facebook Twitter Stumbleupon Delicious Digg RSS