Persistent identifier:
image: of 452
In connexion with the Church of England, for the Mental and Spiritual |
Improvement of Young Men.
Patron—Right Rev. Lord Bishop of Winchester.
President—Rev. W. Wilson, d.d.
Treasurer—Mr. J. M. Preston. Corresponding Secretary—«Mr. T. De Vine. | Finance Secretary—Mr. E. T. Howell. Collector, Mr. F. Clarke.
Meetings and Lectures are held in the All Saints' School-rooms, York-1 buildings, on Tuesday evenings, at half-past eight. A Library and Reading, room on Thursdays. Parties seeking admission can obtain it through any of | the Members.
SOUTHAMPTON YOUNG MEN'S CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION. Object: The Mental, Moral, and Spiritual Improvement of Young Men. President—Lord Henry Cholmondeley, m.p. Vice-Presidents—G. Laishley, J. C Sharp, E. Palk, J. Bullar, W. Lankester,|
and S. Payne, esqrs.
Treasurer—J. M. Allen, esq.
Honorary Secretaries—Mr. W. Wakeford, Hound well-cottage, Mr. E. Sims,
1, Windsor-terrace, and Mr. W. Gollop, East-street. Librarian—Mr. Fryer, High-street. Honorary Collector—Mr. C. R. Cosens, |
The Lectures are delivered at the Polytechnic Institution. The other I Meetings are held at 119, High-street, and admission to these may be obtained by application to any of the Members. The Meetings commence at half-past | eight p.m.
Chairman—William Hans Sloane Stanley, esq. Vice-Chairmen—Rev. John Compton and Robert Eyre, esq. Treasurer—Robert Pearce, esq.
Chaplain—Rev. Mark Cooper. Master—George Horatio Miall. Matron—Jane Miall. Schoolmaster—J. Clarke. Schoolmistress—S. Clarke. Surgeons—William Spear, George Nunn, F. R. Smith, Robert Budd,
Edward Chinery.
Relieving Officers—William Henry Pike, Isaac Fielder, Frederick Fry. Porter—Thomas Whitehorn; Nurse—Betsy Gillett; Clerk—Edward Coxwell.
SOUTH STONEHAM UNION. Chairman—Nathaniel Newman Jefferys, esq., Hollybrook, Shirley. Vice-Chairman—John Mortimer, esq., Bitterne Manor-farm. Clerk—Alexander Frederick Patterson, esq., 19, Portland-street, Southampton. Chaplain—Rev. J. T. W. Baker, Botley.
Master—Mr. Samuel C. Gane. Matron—Mary Ann Morgan. Schoolmaster—Mr. George Miall. Schoolmistress—Sarah Wilkins.
Porter—James Stone, Nurse—Sarah Stone.
Collectors of Poor Rates—Mr. James C. Prince, Itchen Ferry, and Mr. J. W. Matthews, Itchen Ferry.
Relieving Officer for District No. 1, comprising Botley, Bursledon, Hamble, Hound, St. Mary extra, and part of South Stoneham—Mr. Wm. Matthews, Itchen Ferry.
Relieving Officer for District No. 2, comprising Chilworth, Millbrook, North
Stoneham, and part of South Stoneham—Mr. William Redman, Shirley. Medical Officers—Robert Bates, esq., Botley; Edwin Hearne, esq., Southampton; John Baker, esq., Shirley; John Orsbom, esq., Bitterne.
Facebook Twitter Stumbleupon Delicious Digg RSS